Hey Hot Hiker

I woke up at 6:57 a.m. today, and instead of going back to sleep, I got up and went for a hike. I went to Pinnacle Mountain, and although I got there right before 8, it was already pretty busy. Instead of climbing the mountain itself, I hiked the 3.5 mile trail around the base. The main reason I love hiking is the solitude, and I wasn’t going to get that fighting for the summit with the other 20 people who were there. I had a lovely time, and although it was hot as hell I felt great afterwards. I had a pretty skimpy breakfast so I was a little cranky, but lunch soon quelled that. Although I got an early start to beat the heat of midday, I’m glad I went as early as I did because when I got back to my car at around 9:15 a.m. the parking lot was PACKED. There were picnics and frisbee games, families and barbecue supplies. Newcomers were having to park across the highway in the overflow parking.

Now I’m sitting at home, trying to get a little laundry done and relax. I’m nearly done with an afghan I’m making for my mom, her birthday is Tuesday so I want to knock that out by then.

I have to admit, I’m a little bored. I’m only bored because I chose to come home and enjoy being here alone for once, roommate free. I could find something to do if I really wanted.
I used to always have something going on Friday and Saturday nights, but the things I did and the people I did them with are receding from my life. Things I don’t think are healthy, people I don’t want to waste my time on. Sounds harsh, but I want more from life than what that lifestyle will give me. I’m so much happier now than I was when I was at the center of that world, so even though I had to twice tell old friends “no” today, there’s no regret and no feeling that I’m missing out. They’ve been doing the same thing for over four years now. I don’t think the outcome will be any different.

Besides, I want to wake up feeling energetic and refreshed tomorrow. Knowing me, I may have to go for another hike. How lucky am I, that there are trails and paths through beautiful landscapes a 15 minute drive from my front door?

20130518-202733.jpg

20130518-202753.jpg

20130518-202807.jpg

20130518-202817.jpg

20130518-202830.jpg

20130518-202858.jpg

20130518-202922.jpg

20130518-202945.jpg

Leave a comment